RSS

No More (Dreaded) Mondays

09 Nov

Now I know why pastors hate Mondays…

Last Sunday, I preached in our church…This is not about the sermon…this is about…

THE DAY AFTER…

I felt good after the message was over. I received mostly positive feedback, a couple of people said that they had no idea where I was going until the point of the message caught them off-guard at the end, and a couple of people just smiled and patted me on the back.

Overall, I walked out feeling okay. I wanted people to think about what I had to say, sift through the challenges I put forth, and apply something I said in a positive way in their life. As I sat back to relax on Sunday afternoon, I thanked God for giving me some words of encouragement and conviction to share.

Fast forward to Monday morning…

I woke up in a foul mood…I mean, I actually woke up crabby. The day hadn’t even begun yet and I was mad. I grumpily dragged myself into the kitchen, grumpily made myself breakfast, grumpily ate said breakfast, grumpily shuffled off to the shower…you get the picture.

I was grateful that my son decided to drive to school. I didn’t feel like it. Instead, I sat and read. And pondered…

When I got to work, I called Steve.

Steve is one of my closest friends. He also happens to be my pastor, the guy who normally preaches each week. I told him how I was feeling. He chuckled and said, “now you know why pastors say Monday is the worst day of the week.” He started telling me how I was feeling. He suggested that I was second-guessing myself, my sermon, and the way that people reacted to what I had to say. He was right on the money.

The only way I can describe it is in baseball terms. I felt like I had hit a long fly ball and I thought it was going to clear the fence. Instead, it was caught against the wall- just one long out.

Steve told me that he often feels this way on Mondays…

Everyone I see irritates me. Every extraneous sound makes me want to shove cotton balls in my ears. The very idea that my words have been recorded and uploaded to our church website makes me want to unleash a malicious virus that will bring our server crashing to its knees…

And yet…

I preached this Sunday because God had given me something that He wanted me to say. I can’t deny that.

The words came to me far more easily than I would have expected. I can’t ignore that.

And I feel like I’m being attacked by a horde of marauding demons. I can’t disregard that.

So if this is what a pastor feels like everywhere Monday, I’m really not interested in making a career change.

But if you have a pastor who enters this battle and speaks truth from the Word of God every Sunday, then please make sure to thank him or her. Give them a call…write them a note…send them a card.

And make sure that they receive it on a Monday.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Personal Development, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “No More (Dreaded) Mondays

  1. Steve Buchelt

    November 10, 2011 at 1:36 am

    Well, not EVERY Monday.

     
  2. Geo

    November 10, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Well, as I told you in the hall today, at least your listeners don’t interrupt you mid-eloquence and ask, is this going to be on the final? Wait, you’re a teacher the other days, so that probably happens too.

     
  3. Bryan Hart

    November 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    This past monday was one of the least productive I have ever had. I have normally hit the ground running on monday (My favorite part is the clean slate idea generation). I realized that with the kids and with things changing in my life that I should really set aside monday as a full day off to recharge.

    Remember what Seth Godin says (Linchpin/Poke the Box): Ship, Ship, Ship. The people who trash late or think too much about what they could have done better waste precious emotional energy. I have the same thoughts, but I have to ignore them.

    I was told a long time ago by a preacher that you just have to be confident in what you are saying. I suppose this is true for every occupation: teaching, writing, speaking, leading, etc. As much as I want to, I can’t base my success on the opinions of others. I can take feedback, and I can make adjustments in the future, but if I know what I said was right, then I need to let it be.

    Good Job Jon

     
  4. shill

    February 9, 2012 at 9:41 am

    hi!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
