RSS

I Have a Headache…

18 Nov

I have a headache…

I’m not sure why. It’s 3:21 in the afternoon and I have had a full pot of coffee already.

But my head hurts.

As I sit here watching my students agonize their way through an algebra test, I am grateful that it is them and not me that have to think right now. While they rack their brains, trying to remember the difference between the product rule and the power rule, I am conducting a grand experiment.

I am writing a random blog post while trying to contain a splitting headache. I have no idea what words might spill out onto the page…or, more accurately, the screen.

Makes you want to read on, doesn’t it? 🙂

Giving a test is actually harder than teaching…I know that sounds hard to believe. But after they turn in their exams and wander from the room, MY work begins. I have to grade.

Grading takes time…

Grading takes effort…

Grading takes insane amounts of coffee…

Did I mention that I have a headache?

It is very difficult to be fair when grading…it requires consistency. That’s why I grade one question at a time…

Because if I take 3 points away from one person and only 2 points away from another person who made the same mistake on the same problem, you can be sure that, no matter how large the class, they will find one another, compare exams, determine that I am evil and unfair, and mount a coup to overtake my class.

So I grade one question at a time…

Actually, I go through all of the exams and put a green check-mark next to the problems that are correct.

Then I go back through the exams with a red pen and grade the problems that are wrong.

One question at a time…

Sounds like a lot of work, doesn’t it?

It is…but it’s fair.

It’s consistent.

It’s accurate.

Man, my head hurts…

I need a cup of coffee…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Teaching, Uncategorized, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “I Have a Headache…

  1. Mary Ann Morrison Anderson

    November 20, 2011 at 9:05 am

    umm….could coffee be the cause of the headache?? just sayin?? Love ya Jon!!!

     
    • jbecker007

      November 20, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      I refuse to acknowledge that possibility, Mary Ann! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
