RSS

I’m NOT Insecure…I’M NOT!

20 Nov

I have fans…

Not the kinds that blow air around the house…I mean, I have those, too…

But I have actual living, breathing, “Hey, I liked your blog yesterday” fans…

This is exciting to me…

I say this not to brag, but simply to acknowledge that some people have told me they like what I have to say…

When I started writing, I always did it with the hope that someone (anyone!) would find it to be mildly entertaining, occasionally inspirational, and usually funny.

A few people have indicated to me that they have been entertained, inspired, and have even laughed.

So why am I nervous?

With the success, minor though it may be, comes an expectation that I will continue to be entertaining, inspirational, and funny. It’s a 2-way street. Those who enjoy what I write will start to wonder when I will entertain them next…

And after my next post, I will start to wonder if I have entertained them…

It’s not a problem for those people in cyberspace who may be reading from afar…they can choose to comment (or not) and I won’t even realize that (in their minds) I posted a clunker.

But what about those I see on a regular basis?

I have started to receive feedback from my coworkers…

Sometimes, they call me or drop me an email to make a comment about my most recent blog.

But sometimes, they will stop by my office to share their own common experiences as they relate to my most recent blog.

So what happens when I see them in the hallway after my most recent post, and they don’t say anything about how good it was? Or worse: what if they…

Avoid eye contact?

Or,

Look at me with pity?

What if I see them looking at me while whispering to another coworker? And then they start laughing?

Because I KNOW that they’re talking about me…

I KNOW IT!!!

Sigh…

I’m not insecure…

Do you like this post?

If not, pretend that you do…

Smile when you see me in the hallway.

And I’ll make up the rest of the story in my head…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Motivation, Personal Development, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “I’m NOT Insecure…I’M NOT!

  1. Mary Ann Morrison Anderson

    November 20, 2011 at 9:08 am

    I always enjoy reading your blog!! I don’t always comment…but I may start…so LOOK OUT!!!! 🙂 Insecurity is a tough monkey to carry on your back (or my back as the case may be…)and once you have it, you can tame it, but it still likes to rear it ugly head at the most inopportune times!!

     
    • jbecker007

      November 20, 2011 at 2:30 pm

      Feel free to comment away! Also, please fell free to share this with anyone and everyone that you think might enjoy it. I am working to build a following as I look down the road to a larger writing project.

       
  2. Louise Reichert

    November 20, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Oh, you are SOOO on target! My book has just come out, and, while I have had a few other things published before, and written some blogs before (that I don’t think anyone has read), I have started a blog to go with the website for my book. All of a sudden, there is a greater chance I will be read. What will they think? Will they tell me what they think? I know I can’t expect approval all of the time (particularly of my primary topic), but one has to HOPE for it. I think we are all more alike than we often care to acknowledge. We want affirmation. We want to be liked. We want others to understand and to relate. Well, Writer Becker, you’re doing just fine on all counts! And, even though not everyone will admit it, we are more like you than we care to admit!

     
    • jbecker007

      November 20, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Thanks, Louise! Good luck with your book! Please post a link here so that others and I can find your blog AND the book!

       

Leave a Reply

 
