RSS

Surprise!

23 Nov

I hate surprises…

I’m one of those people who reads the last chapter of the book to see “whodunit” before I read the book…

I go to www.themoviespoiler.com to find out how a movie ends before I go see it in the theater.

I found out before “The Empire Strikes Back” was released that Darth Vader was Luke Skywalker’s father…

I hate surprises.

When I turned 21, my parents and my girlfriend tried to throw me a surprise birthday party. I sensed that it was coming, so I sleuthed out the secret.

It was a party….it was NOT a surprise.

I remember when I was 7 years old; I unwrapped a present under the Christmas tree because I did not want to be surprised on Christmas morning. It wasn’t easy to re-wrap, but I did it. My parents never knew, and I wasn’t surprised. Of course I had to. ACT surprised…that wasn’t easy.

I hate surprises…

Last night, I had insomnia. I woke up at 3:30 and could NOT get back to sleep…so I got up. I surfed the web and did some online work until about 6:00 am. Of course, I was then tired and went to bed, promptly fell asleep, and, you guessed it…I overslept.

My daughter, Kelly, woke me at 7:00 with, “Dad, don’t you have to go to work?” I groaned, scrambled out of bed and raced into the shower…this was going to be a horrible day. It was NOT starting out well. Tired, crabby, and late for work is never a good way to start the day.

After my 3-minute shower, I hurriedly got dressed, stumbled into the living room…

And started screaming…

Did I mention that I hate surprises?

I woke up the rest of the house with my scream…my wife came running, the kids came running…

Or , more accurately, the REST of the kids came running…

Kelly was already there…with a big goofy grin on her face.

“Hi, dad!,” he said.

Kelly is not a he…Kelly is a she…you probably already figured that out…

“He” is my son, Jack.

Jack and Kelsie

Jack and his wife, Kelsie, live in Minnesota…Jack and Kelsie are not supposed to be here until Christmas…Jack and Kelsie drove all night to be here for Thanksgiving…Jack and Kelsie did not tell anyone they were coming.

Jack and Kelsie surprised us.

Guess what?

I love surprises…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2011 in Family, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Surprise!

  1. Kimberly

    November 23, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I am so glad they got you. Enjoy your time with them.

     
  2. Geo

    November 23, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Very nice. Happy Thanksgiving.

     

Leave a Reply

 
