RSS

Thanksgiving

24 Nov

I love Thanksgiving…

It’s just about my favorite holiday.

I think everyone should find something to be thankful for on Thanksgiving…unless you’re a turkey.

Thanksgiving might not be as fun for you if you’re a turkey.

But I digress…

I have so much for which to be thankful…

I drive an 11-year old car with 200,000 miles, a broken strut, and a crunched fender from that deer I hit 2 Christmases ago…

But I have a car to drive.

I go to a job that is not always fulfilling, doesn’t pay quite enough to make ends meet without working a second part-time job, and is a 45-minute drive…

But I have a job…and a part time job.

And a car to drive 45 minutes to get to work.

I have a dad that can’t drive anymore, so I have to take him to church, the grocery store, and the pharmacy…

But I still have my dad.

I miss my mom..especially this time of year…

But I still have great memories…

I have a house full of noisy kids who like to argue with each other ALL the time.

But they love ME…I’m thankful for that.

They love each other too.

They just have a different way of showing it.

I have a great wife.

I have great friends.

I have a Savior who died for me.

I have so much to be thankful for…I shouldn’t need a holiday to remind me of that.

But I find myself acting so ungrateful so often. It seems like I can’t be thankful for the things that I have.

You know why? Because other people that seem less worthy seem to have so much more.

How judgmental is that?

I mean, why do I think that they seem less worthy?

Is it because they have mansions and money, but no apparent moral compass?

Is it because their value system doesn’t align with mine?

Is it because they play in the NBA, make millions of dollars, and have 13 kids by 11 different women, none of whom is their wife?

Is it because they earn millions of dollars by making movies and then divorce their wife because they just can’t keep their marriage vows?

When I dwell on these things, it hampers my own ability to be thankful for the incredible blessings that I DO have.

So I will not be judgmental. I will be thankful….

What are YOU thankful for?

Today, I am thankful that I am not a turkey…

At least not THAT kind of turkey. 😀

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. Kate

    November 24, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I’m thankful for you, Dear. 🙂 Love ya!

     
  2. Geo

    November 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Two Thanksgivings ago I lost out on a car-pedestrian disagreement: I’m thankful to be walking around and surrounded by things to be thankful for.

     
  3. Darren

    November 25, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Geesh cousin, it’s like we share the same brain. I’m often envious of the material gain and possessions that others have. I think “Man…if Angie hadn’t quit her job and if we didn’t tithe we’d have it made! I’d have that 3000 sq foot house, RV and boat I always dream about.”

    I hate to say it, but I’m glad that you said your kids fight with one another a lot. Makes me feel less bad when mine do. 🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and have a blessed Christmas season.

     

Leave a Reply

 
