RSS

Job Loss

30 Nov

I kinda lost my job…

Kinda.

Ok, can you count it as losing a job if it was only an interim job until they found someone else, but then you decided you liked it so you decided you wanted to keep it but then they hired someone else anyway and you didn’t get to keep it?

Yeah, I lost my job.

I thought it was a job I wanted to keep…I was a UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATOR…I had my own secretary…I had a big(ger) paycheck. I was someone’s boss…(actually a couple of someones). I felt pretty important. And I didn’t have to teach math anymore. I was happy about that.

Although I missed the students.

But I was important…I was in authority…I was in a position to facilitate change…I HAD POWER!!!

Not really…but I FELT important.

In higher eduction, when a faculty member moves into administration, it is referred to (not so affectionately) as going over to the “dark side.”

I was fine with that. Call me Jon Vader…I was ready to join with the Emperor to bring order to the galaxy….er, the university…

And it was the Chancellor…not the Emperor…

Some people think that they are the same thing…

Anyway…

I THOUGHT that I was happy on the dark side. I did not choose to return to the light side on my own, like Darth Vader did when he saved Luke at the end of “Return of the Jedi.” I was forcibly sent back to the light side. And I was not happy…

Funny thing though…

After I returned to the faculty, I started NOT missing the headaches of administration…the bureaucracy…the red tape…the “someones” that I was in charge of who didn’t want to follow the rules.

And I started working with those students again…those students that I had been missing…

And I came to a startling realization: being an administrator, a leader, and a teacher are not interchangeable skills. Some people have none of those abilities, some have all of these abilities, and some may only have one or two of them. I love to lead and I love to teach. I do not love to administrate.

I do miss having a larger paycheck…

And I miss having my own secretary…that was cool.

But I missed teaching more.

And it took being forced back from the dark side in order to realize it.

Maybe there’s hope for me after all…

I mean, even Darth Vader turned out to be a good guy in the end.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Motivation, Personal Development, Teaching

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Job Loss

  1. Jannie

    November 30, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Jon, You are a great guy! God has you right where He needs you. Those students are being blessed by you & your witness! Bet you touch many more lives teaching!

     
  2. Scott

    November 30, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Knowing you as I do, I cannot think of a better place for you than with students. While you had the illusion of control, teaching has a far greater scope of influence. Teaching is your best destiny and glad the universe intervened when you chose not to return on your own. (And no, I wasn’t an actor on behalf of the universe 🙂 )

     
  3. Kimberly

    November 30, 2011 at 9:38 am

    You need a LIKE button on this blog.

     
    • Bryan Hart

      December 1, 2011 at 6:52 am

      There it is…up there…look! I found it!

       
  4. Bryan Hart

    December 1, 2011 at 6:56 am

    You definitely have more power now than you did before.

    Anytime you are able to make the breakthroughs (even if they are small) in those student’s lives you have a ton of power. The sad thing is that most teachers forget that power as the world of education eats away at their passion.

    I know the students are benefiting from the change back to the light side. (Although…I think it is a broken analogy…because the Dark Side was always cooler in my eyes.)

     
  5. Judy Zeilenga

    December 7, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I hate to say it, oh what the heck, TOLD YOU SO! Happy Holidays, Jon & Kate + 8

     

Leave a Reply

 
