RSS

I Lost My Keys…

04 Dec

I can’t find my keys again…

This seems to happen at least once a week. I come home, and instead of hanging my keys on the hook like I do every other day of the week, I get distracted by something…one of my kids, my lovely wife, or something interesting in the mail, and I forget to hang up the keys. And once that happens, the gremlins who steal one of each pair of my socks and most of my ink pens comes along and snatches up my keys.

SIGH…

I get tired of playing this game.

I do not like to be late. Anywhere. And I have typically had a great record for punctuality. Ask anyone…ok, don’t ask my students.

I’m usually always 2 minutes late for class.

But at least I’m consistent.

What was I talking about? Oh yeah…my keys.

I usually know what time I need to walk out the door in order to be appropriately on time for wherever I am going. And this is not usually a problem…

Except for once a week…

It’s usually when I am going to work out at the gym before going to the office.

And it usually goes something like this:

As I start toward the door, I look at the key hook, and my keys are not there…my hands immediately shoot into my pockets and I usually spin around the room, looking at the typical places where I usually leave them…

Not there…nope, not there either…

Sigh, here we go again…

I run to the living room and look next to my chair. Nope. Top of the entertainment center? Not there either…

On to the bedroom…dresser? Nope…night stand? Uh-uh…in the pocket of the pants I wore yesterday? No dice…

Being the sensitive guy that I am, I do not want to disturb my sleeping wife, so I take HER car keys off the hook, grab my duffel bag, and head out the door. I have every intention of working out in the gym before work, and I am not going to let something like missing car keys keep me from my appointment with the elliptical machine. Given how much I hate exercise, there’s no way that I am going to skip out on a day when I actually feel MOTIVATED!!!

So I get to the gym, shove my duffel bag into my locker, and go torture myself for 45 minutes to an hour…then I shower and change…reaching into my duffel bag, I hear a jingle…and pull out my car keys…the car keys that I had put in my duffel bag last night when I was being responsible and getting my gear ready for working out the next day…my car keys that I had tossed into the duffel bag so that I would not have to hunt for them the next morning…

My car keys that I have misplaced three weeks in a row and later found in my duffel bag when I got to work…

I’m not kidding…

SIGH…

I guess I’m getting old.

And forgetful…

What about you? Do you ever consistently misplace the same thing? Does it usually turn up in the same spot? Do you feel silly when you find it again for the fourteenth time right where you left it the previous thirteen times? Please help me not to feel so forgetful…share your experiences here. And let’s be a forgetful community together!

Well, I need to take my dad to the grocery store…see you soon!

Now where did I put my keys?

 

6 responses to “I Lost My Keys…

  1. Margaret Zyskowski

    December 5, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Make a colorful note and put a paper clip on it. Put this in the pocket of your duffel bag. When you put the keys in, take the note out and hang it on the key hook with the paper clip. (daughters are good at this note making stuff. you could even laminate it so it will last.) It helps to have a system.

    Pete is getting forgetful about the same three items, partial denture, watch and wallet. I now am a verbal check list for these things. It beats the raving rant I get when I am blamed for RUSHING him.

    You should be clutching your sides with laughter by now. Me? I never rush anyone , anywhere, to any place (except church) at any time.It is easier to have a system or be part of the system.

    You are not getting old, (that would date me as being VERY OLD). You do not remember, but I was there the day you were born.

     
  2. Bryan Hart

    December 6, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Yes…my car keys are my brain’s biggest challenge. I have a drawer I am supposed to put them in…miss it often.

    The frustrating thing is that my wife struggles sometimes with thinking that I am truly brain dead. 😛

     
  3. Lester Earl Riggle

    December 13, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    that’s why i have a hook by the door so i won’t lose my keys. l lose the remote for tv almost daily, forget i got up and put it somewhere, or it falls in the sofa.

     
  4. DanG

    December 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I feel your pain man, I am always looking for my keys.

    Today mine were under the recliner. It took an hour at least to find them there.

     
    • jbecker007

      February 4, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      Yep…seems like I misplace them every other day…

       

Leave a Reply

 
