RSS

Linchpin

13 Dec


Seth Godin says to ship…

In his classic marketing book, “Linchpin”, Godin says that the key to getting anything done is to ship.

Ever wonder why some of my blog posts sound pretty good while others sound unfinished? Incoherent? Unfocused?

It’s because Seth Godin says to ship…

I didn’t used to care what Seth Godin had to say…

The first of his books that I read was “Poke the Box.”

I highly recommend reading Seth Godin’s books.

Don’t read “Poke the Box” first.

You may not read a second one…

I read a second one because Bryan picked one for our weekly “Eagle” meeting.

That book was “Linchpin”,…

Where was I?

Oh, yes…

Seth Godin says to ship.

To ship means to send what has been created when you reach your deadline…

Whether it’s ready or not.

I have adopted this philosophy…

Of course, the goal is to make sure that what is being shipped is in the best condition possible. But if I were to wait until every blog I write is exactly the way that I want it to be…to make sure that it is “perfect”…

Well, I would have a very short blog.

So if you are following my blogs (and I HOPE that you ARE), then you should know that I am not dedicated to perfection…

I am dedicated to trying to make you smile…

I am dedicated to posting something new every 2-3 days…

I am dedicated to shipping….

Whether it’s “perfect” or not…

What about you?

What do you have that needs to be shipped?

What is it that you are procrastinating on because you just can’t seem to close the deal?

Read the chapter entitled The Resistance in “Linchpin”,

Get motivated…

And SHIP!

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Linchpin

  1. Seth Godin

    December 13, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Well shipped.

     
    • jbecker007

      December 13, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Thank you, Seth! You have no idea how honored I am that you commented on this!

       

Leave a Reply

 
