RSS

Writing about Life…the Universe…Everything…

02 Feb

2/1/2012
(A conversation with my 15-year old son, Matthew)
Matthew: “You need to write a blog…”
Me: “Why?”
Matthew: “Because I enjoy reading them…”
Me: (dumbfounded stare)
Matthew: “And because you haven’t written in almost a month…”

2/2/2012
(Facebook instant message from a co-worker)
“More blog please!”

Matthew is right…it has now been a month since I have posted anything in The Marginal Writer. I originally intended to write regularly. And I wanted to get better at my writing

To that end, I have sought out advice and counsel from bloggers far more prolific and successful than myself. I have subscribed to blogs about how to write better blogs, how to “find my voice,” how to “focus my message,” and how to “grow my tribe…” and I believe that every one of them has added some value to my thinking…

But mostly, they have made me feel inadequate.

Two months ago, I was on a roll…I was writing on all sorts of random topics in my life that interested me. And, surprisingly enough, there were people who were actually interested in the random wandering of my writings.

Then I decided to get some blog training…

And my creativity locked up…

I started to feel inadequate, because everything I read about blogging told me that the only way to increase my readership was to narrow my focus to a specific topic. One of my coaches posed the following questions to me:

• What am I passionate about?
• In what topic do I have expertise or a desire to learn?
• What could I write about for a year without running out of ideas or energy?

These are excellent questions from a very successful blogger and blog coach. I wrestled with these questions for days. And the truth is, I could not find a specific answer for any of them. I don’t have any one thing that I feel I am an expert in, and there are so many things I want to learn that I find it hard to focus on just one thing. There is no one subject about which I am so passionate that I could write for a year without running out of ideas or energy.

Or maybe…

Maybe there is…

I am passionate about my life…That sounds self-centered, but bear with me for a minute…

I am passionate about my wife…I am passionate about my kids…I am passionate about laughter…

I am passionate about my friends…I am passionate about my students…I am passionate about my hobbies…

I am passionate about losing weight…I am passionate about trying to get fit…I am passionate about writing…

More than anything else, I am passionate about my relationship with Jesus Christ…

So when I put them all together, what does that give me?

It gives me my life…

And I could write about what’s going on in my life for a year and beyond without ever exhausting the supply of interesting stories…

So I’m back…

And I’ll be writing about what’s going on in my life.

If you enjoy reading it, that’s great…

If not, that’s okay, too…

Because I will have enjoyed writing it…

You see, my 15 year old son finds my writing interesting…

And that means more to me than finding any tribe…

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Family, Focus, Motivation, Self-discipline, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Writing about Life…the Universe…Everything…

  1. influenceversuscontrol

    February 2, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    Awesome. I feel like I am at the crossroad of which you speak. I started writing a blog a day just so I would develop the habit of writing daily. Then, I have to admit, I became attached to the numbers of daily visits. I then read authoritative guides on how to build an audience. My temptation has been to slow down and focus on quality. Maybe I should only publish weekly?

    I am glad that you are following your passion!

     
    • jbecker007

      February 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      Like you, I just want to write daily…I feel like I was writing some entertaining and thoughtful blogs, but then I got hung up on trying to increase readers instead of just writing.

       
  2. labyrinth001

    February 2, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    I think it’s great to be able to write about multiple topics. We all have interests in different things; it’s a gift to have a blog and let yourself write about them all! And if your readers love to read all those different posts, that’s wonderful 🙂

    And that’s awesome how your son got you back on track.

     
    • jbecker007

      February 2, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      He’s a pretty awesome young man!

       
  3. yooperscribe

    February 2, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    The very interesting thing is that what interests YOU interests many of us because WE share the same fears, hopes, and joys. Keep writing about life, jbecker. We’ll be reading your blogs.

     
    • jbecker007

      February 2, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you! I definitely appreciate the encouragement…:-)

       
  4. Susan M.

    February 2, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    I love reading your blog as well. I’m an avid online reader of pretty much everything because I don’t do well at sitting still with my nose in a book; I’m much too ADD for that. Anyway write on! 🙂

     
    • jbecker007

      February 3, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Thanks, Susan…it’s hard to believe that a hip young woman such as yourself would be interested in anything an old guy like I would have to say. 🙂

       
  5. Jereda

    February 4, 2012 at 6:41 am

    Jon, I’ve always been told, “Go with what you know.” Glad you are continuing with “what you know.” THAT will make your blog something that people want to read. I agree with your son. Keep writing!

     
    • jbecker007

      February 4, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Thanks, Jereda…glad you’re a reader!

       

Leave a Reply

 
