RSS

Cultivate Your Art…

06 Feb

Andy Warhol's "Campbell's Soup Can," 1962

I need to write…

It’s not just something I WANT to do…

I NEED to write…

Over the Christmas holidays, I was sick or injured for more than six weeks. Bronchitis, stomach virus, flu, injured back, bad knee…you name it, I had it…

Except for maybe morning sickness…I didn’t have that…

But I digress…

As I said, I NEED to write…

The creative process energizes me. It fills my soul and infuses my mind and body with an energy that I rarely experience in any other way…

When I write, I am able to disconnect from the rest of the world and let what is in my heart flow onto the page…and because I desire to keep my heart and mind centered on God, I feel a deeply spiritual connection to Him when I write…and it carries over into other areas of my life.

Creating art is a spiritual experience.

I didn’t have that experience for several weeks…

And I missed it…

I used sickness and pain as a way to rationalize away my need for to create…my need to connect with God…

God made us to create art.

Some people create art with their hands…some create art with their minds…some create art with their athletic ability…

But we ALL have the ability to create art…we were MADE to create art.

Some people do not believe that they create art…that they have no artistic ability. I disagree…

I have a friend named Dave who is a nurse. He would probably tell you that he is not artistic.

He works at a nursing home, taking care of Alzheimer’s patients. He LOVES working with Alzheimer’s patients. He makes them feel valued and appreciated…then they forget, and he does it again…and again…and again, patiently building into the same people over and over…knowing that they will not recall what he has done for them time after time.

I could never do that…

But Dave does…every day.

That’s art.

I have another friend named Pam who would also tell you that she is not an artist.

I hired Pam to work at the university. I needed someone with the patience and the people skills to call students who were in danger of losing their financial aid because of bad grades.

Call after call, hour after hour, day after day, Pam calls students and talks to them about their situation. Sometimes, the students recognize their responsibility and talk with Pam about how to fix their problem. Sometimes, the students are rude. Sometimes they cry.

But ALL the time, Pam treats them with respect and compassion…that’s art.

I could never do that…that’s why I hired Pam.

Larry is an accountant. He is enthusiastically preparing for tax season…attending tax seminars and prepping his clients for the changes in the tax code. I’m a math teacher who can barely balance my checkbook…don’t tell ME that accounting isn’t an ART!

God made us to create…What are you creating? We are ALL artists. We just need to recognize our art for what it is…and share it with others as often as possible.

After all, giving away our art is generosity…

And generosity is an art that we should all practice.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Cultivate Your Art…

  1. yooperscribe

    February 6, 2012 at 7:14 am

    As usual, well written and so very true! The older I get, the more awe I have of the complexities of individuals and of how varied and beautiful each and every one of God’s creatures is! Thank you for the reminder.

     

Leave a Reply

 
