RSS

Just Do It!

08 Feb

I’m sitting in my favorite chair at my favorite Starbucks with my favorite cup of coffee by my side, and I have time to write…

I got nuthin’…

Why does this happen? Why is it that when we think that the setting is perfect…that all the elements are in place to accomplish…

We can’t?

Like right now…

I actually have about seven or eight blogs that are in various stages of completion. Some are finished…sitting in the cue, waiting to go live over the next few days…some of them need some minor revision before posting…and some of them are nothing more than a sentence or two-a nugget of an idea that I did not want to forget about, but i have not yet fleshed out…

And yet, I sit here, in my favorite seat, in my favorite writing place, with multiple blog posts rolling around in my mind…

And I can’t push anything down the field.

Instead, I write about how I can’t write anything.

Now there’s a whopping contradiction.

I know that I am not alone in this….

People often tell me that they will do “this” when “that” is just right…and yet, when the “that” in their life is finally just right, they accomplish nothing…

Admit it…you have done it too…

You sit in front of your computer, knowing that you have to work on something specific…but you don’t know how to proceed with the next step.

So you check your e-mail…

Or play Angry Birds…

Or post a funny link on Facebook.

And then you get frustrated later when you haven’t accomplished anything.

I’m here to tell you that we CAN overcome this…

For example…

I have no clue what my next sentence will be…

I have no general theme or idea for this particular blog…

I usually do. Usually, I know what I want to write about.

But not today.

I just know that the circumstances I usually desire to have in place for writing are all here.

So I am forcing myself to write something…

Anything…

Chances are good that this blog will not win any writing awards…

But that’s okay…

Because I’m doing it…

I’m writing…

I spent six weeks mired in a slump where I wrote almost nothing, and I do not want to go back there…

So in the words of the immortal god Nike (and his sidekick MJ), I have decided to “Just Do It.”

It may not end up pretty…but it WILL end up written…

And shipped

Because that’s what artists need to do…

We need to ship…

So what is it that you aren’t doing?

What is it that you are waiting for all the stars to line up for?

What is it that you are waiting for the perfect moment to do?

Because I’m here in my favorite chair at my favorite writing place with my favorite coffee beside me to tell you:

You need to stop waiting for the perfect time…

You need to stop waiting for the perfect place…

You need to stop waiting for the perfect cup of coffee…

Or whatever it is that you are waiting for…

And just do it.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Just Do It!

  1. Dan

    February 8, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    I know that feeling.. all these ideas and none to completion. You inspire me to finish something today at all cost.

     
  2. jbecker007

    February 8, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Dan, I’m delighted that I gave you a nugget of inspiration…I sincerely hope you accomplish your goal today!

     
  3. Nancy Ward

    February 8, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    Jon, what are doing in my brain again? I’ll do it, I’ll do it….

     
  4. jbecker007

    February 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Glad to hear it, Nancy…and I’m sure you’ll do it well!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
