RSS

Leap Day!

29 Feb

What if your bank deposited $86,400 into your savings account every day?

You would become rich very quickly…

Unless…

What if there was a catch?

What if, at the end of each day, they withdrew any balance that remained in the account?

What would you do?

Well, if you’re like me, you would probably go to the bank every day and withdraw all of the money so that the balance went back down to zero…

And the next day, they would make a new deposit…

And you would go to the bank and withdraw all of the money…

And so on…

Guess what?

There IS a bank that does exactly that.

Every day.

It’s called the Time Bank.

And every day, we each get the exact same deposit.

86,400 seconds.

And we can spend those seconds any way that we want to.

But there’s a catch.

At the end of the day, we do not get to roll over to the next day any seconds that we have not used.

They’re gone.

I wish this was an original thought.

I actually heard it on the radio this morning.

And it got me to thinking…

If I were to waste money the way that I waste time, I would be broke very quickly.

Sometimes I do not even realize that I am wasting time.

I do some part time consulting to make a little extra income that helps meet our monthly budget…I get paid by the hour.

But sometimes, I find myself working, not because I need to, but because I am avoiding the things I need to do to accomplish my goals…goals like writing, for example.

I do not expect to become a best-selling author (although I won’t resist if the opportunity comes along). But I do want to become better at the art of writing. I want to have a positive impact on people. I want to be an encourager and motivator.

That requires me to sit down and write, even when I am having writer’s block (or, as I prefer to call it, a “lapse in creativity.”)

But instead, I find myself sitting in front of the computer, consulting on some project or another, during the time that I have set aside for writing.

And I rationalize it by thinking, “Well, we need the money…”

As if my kids have to stand by the road with a tin cup and beg for change.

I can never get the time back that I spend on something else.

And we are not given an unlimited number of daily deposits into our time bank.

When I think to myself, “I’ll do that tomorrow,” I am taking for granted that my daily deposit of 86,400 seconds will be made.

One day, that full daily deposit will not be made…and then there will be no more daily deposits.

And those who look at my bank account will say, “Wow, look how he spent his time.”

The tone of their voice will indicate whether they are impressed…

Or scornful.

Today is February 29th…some people call it “Leap Day.”

Some people think of it as a “bonus day.”

If it truly is a bonus day, then you have had an extra 86,400 seconds deposited into your account.

I’m spending mine by writing…

How will you spend yours?

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
