RSS

Downward Ho!

08 Mar

I broke through a plateau last week…

Finally.

Many of you know exactly what I mean when I say that, and you are privately congratulating me…or wishing that it was you who could say that.

If you aren’t sure what that means, then you are fortunate. It probably means that you have not fought a lifelong battle with your weight.

A plateau occurs when you have been losing weight for awhile, and then…

You don’t.

You get stuck. You hit a plateau. And no matter what you do, you cannot seem to get your weight loss moving in a downward trajectory.

Hitting a plateau is frustrating. After sitting at a plateau for a while, it becomes extremely discouraging.

It is at this point that many people resort to drastic measures…

Or give up.

I have done both.

Weight loss has been a lifelong battle for me. I went on my first diet when I was 12, and I have tried dozens of different diet plans since then. My weight has yo-yoed between 280 and 360 since high school, and I have hit many plateaus along the way.

The first time I hit a serious plateau, I decided to stop eating completely and increase my exercise program. I fasted for several days, working out strenuously every morning.

I ended up in the hospital with an erratic heartbeat.

I was flat on my back in a hospital bed for five days, with nothing to do but watch TV…and eat.

When I left the hospital, I had gained ten pounds.

Not exactly the way I wanted to get off my plateau.

Other plateaus in weight loss have been left behind by abandoning the diet. I have done that.

And each time I did that, I would gain more weight than I lost when I originally started the diet.

So breaking through this current plateau was extremely gratifying for me.

I did not do anything stupid.

And I did not give up.

I simply made a couple of specific changes to my eating plan.

I cut my calorie intake by 500 calories per day.

I started to consistently weigh and measure my food.

And I planned out my meals in advance.

I also began using a phenomenal iPad app called MyFitnessPal.

They have a website too.

MyFitnessPal contains a library of just about every name brand food and restaurant item you can possibly imagine, including all nutritional information on each item.

MyFitnessPal allows you to record exercise information, and then computes calories burned (along with your food intake) to give you a full picture of your dietary consumption for the day and week. It also stores meals and recipes so that you can easily recall them if you have a similar meal at another time.

MyFitnessPal has removed all excuses I have ever used for failing to write down my food. The only excuse for not keeping track now is sheer laziness…and I’ve been guilty of that before.

But not anymore.

At least not with my food.

Because I have finally broken through a plateau.

I didn’t have to do anything crazy to get through it.

And I am NOT giving up…not this time.

Not ever again.

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Downward Ho!

  1. Janice Roebuck (aka Jan/Jannie/Jill)

    March 8, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    So proud of you for choosing to deal with this plateau in a healthy way. Praise God for blessing you with the willingness to make changes and showing you the changes to make. I know (and you know I know) how hard that can be. I can get so frustrated and think “what? you want me to give up more ? seriously?” But, what I surrender is nothing compared to what I get in return. God Bless you my friend ! Jan/Jannie/Janice/Jill

     
    • jbecker007

      March 8, 2012 at 12:37 pm

      I know what you mean, Jann! Giving up more is so hard…and I do not always succeed. Praise God that He is stronger than my food addiction!

       
  2. Carl

    March 8, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best news I’ve had all day! Congratulations, I know how hard you worked for this breakthrough. I’m having an non-contact high!

     
    • jbecker007

      March 10, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      Thanks, Carl! I appreciate your encouragement!!!

       
  3. Rachael

    March 8, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Great job, Jon, I’m thrilled for you!

     
    • jbecker007

      March 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Thanks, Rachael! Praise God!

       
  4. Bryan Hart (@BryanHartSpeaks)

    March 15, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Wicked Sweet! We should celebrate. How about coffee on Friday?

    Seriously, Congrats. I need your energy for my current situation. Thanks for being committed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
