RSS

Vegging Out…

10 Mar

I’m vegging out…

Is that a word? Vegging? My spell checker says it’s not…

But you all know exactly what I mean, don’t you?

I’m sittin’ around, not doin’ anything important…zonin’ out.

And I feel guilty.

I shouldn’t. But I do.

We all need to zone out once in a while…we need to shut off our brains and just float aimlessly along the river of mindlessness.

I need to find a different place to do it though.

Because right now, I’m in my favorite writing place, at my favorite Starbucks, in my favorite chair, with my favorite cup of coffee…

And like Pavlov’s dog, I seem to be trained to react a certain way when I am in this spot.

I get out the iPad and I start to write.

I guess that’s a good thing…this place seems to help me break through the clutter in my mind and focus my thoughts.

But what about when I need to mentally unplug?

Do I need to find a new location to go to where I can just zone out?

Am I so OCD that I need to have one place to think and one place NOT to think?

Well, at least I’m in the right place to think about that right now…

Think about where I can go to not think…

Wow, there’s a heavy concept.

I’m thinking too much…my head is starting to hurt.

I better find that non-thinking place soon….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Focus, Motivation, Self-discipline, Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Vegging Out…

  1. lyricalmeanings

    March 10, 2012 at 7:25 am

    Vegging is most definitely a word though my compueter disagrees with me too! But it’s the most apt description and I refuse to let spell-check and few wavy red lines take it away from language! Good luck with the intended brain freezing, only in the short term of course.

     
  2. Janice Roebuck (aka Jan/Jannie/Jill)

    March 10, 2012 at 11:45 am

    You crack me up ! I think it is great you have the willingness to think about not thinking and where to not think.

     
  3. George Bodmer

    March 12, 2012 at 7:38 am

    When I was in graduate school I lived about 10 blocks from my classes, and when I walked home I would look at the scenery and the sky, thinking about nothing in particular. But by the time I got home, I would often have an idea for a paper. This is why I like writing classes in the regular semester rather than the condensed summer: students need time to not-think.

     

Leave a Reply

 
