RSS

DISTRACTED!

16 Mar

I just read a guest blog at one of my favorite blog sites, Goinswriter.com. The article, by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, details one of their secrets to excellent writing.

The secret is this: “Sit in a chair for two hours every day.”

Millburn and Nicodemus state that, “Eventually, the words will come.”

I have been sitting in the same chair for the last three hours, trying to write. The words have not been coming to me.

Of course, their premise relies on the idea that we are free from all distractions. And I quote: “Make sure you don’t have any distractions in that chair — no internet, no television, no radio, no phone. If you’re truly passionate about writing, you’ll do it.”

Of course, I am sitting at a Starbucks, where the radio is playing loudly. I have my cell phone at my side, and I am using my computer, which, of course, is wirelessly connected to the internet.

And since the words are not coming, I am using my time productively…playing Facebook Scrabble.

On the plus side, this Starbucks does not have a television…

Maybe I’m not “truly passionate about writing.”

SIGH…

It seems like no matter where I go, there are distractions.

And I use them as an excuse not to write.

I have trouble writing at home, because my children, as wonderful as they are, prevent me from focusing.

I have trouble writing at the office, because I feel the pressure to accomplish work-related tasks.

I know these feel like excuses…and maybe they are. But it seems like there are distractions everywhere I go.

What are the distractors in your life? What is it that gets in the way of your accomplishments? And what are you doing to eliminate those distractors?

I would really like to know.

Because I need help.

And who better to help than you?

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “DISTRACTED!

  1. Anne Balay

    March 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    hey Jon
    I have to bore myself into writing. Once I’m started, it rolls out easily, but starting is really hard. Really. And distractions are a given — you can’t eliminate them, you just have to shift your focus, right?
    So boredom. I don’t let myself leave the place I have assigned, or do anything else. For a while I do nothing. But eventually, I get so bored, I start, just to have something to do. And then I’m fine. But the boredom part can last between 4 and 60ish hours. And I’m always mad at myself once I do start, since the boredom is truly awful, and a waste of time . . .
    hey, you asked 🙂
    Anne

     
    • jbecker007

      March 16, 2012 at 6:00 pm

      Thanks, Anne! I have definitely bored myself into writing before…and I agree, I get mad too. I hate wasting time!

       
  2. Bryan Hart (@BryanHartSpeaks)

    March 19, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    It seems like I have been dealing with distractions a ton lately. I have been distracted from my overall goals by all sorts of things. The worst is “blaming” my family for the distraction. My goal is to get into a routine again. Thanks for the post Jon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
