RSS

“The Hunger Games”

24 Mar

On the off-chance that you are living under a rock, this blog is a public service announcement:

The latest hot new movie, “The Hunger Games,” released this weekend.

Now, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, then I envy you.

For the rest of you, I hope that you will enjoy this cinematic diversion…

I know that this sounds condescending. It is not meant to…

Because I must admit that I, too, want to go see “The Hunger Games.”

I know that my son, Matthew, is rejoicing at this admission…

But wanting to go see it and actually doing so are two decidedly different things.

Will my son go see it?

Maybe…

Will I go see it? I don’t know…

Why might I NOT go see a movie that genuinely interests me?

Because it’s a diversion…

That’s not bad in and of itself…

But what is a diversion for most people usually becomes a distraction for me.

Diversions are temporary and fleeting.

Distractions are long-lasting.

Diversions are short-term adventures that allow us to escape the mundane…

Distractions are long-term disruptions that dominate my thoughts and keep me from accomplishing my goals.

At the risk of drawing derision from those more equipped to assess my attention-span, I have often wondered if I am not ADD. I have an extremely difficult time focusing on important tasks for a long period of time. But when something like “The Hunger Games” comes out, I am suddenly obsessed with searching the internet for the latest film trailers, news, and pop culture chatter about the phenomenon.

Is it because I like to be “in the know” about what people are talking about?

Probably…

It is definitely in my nature to want to be a part of what the rest of the crowd is doing…

Of course, that makes me a follower…

And following is okay…sometimes.

But I have found much success in life when I have had the opportunity to be a leader rather than a follower.

And the larger successes in my life have been from leading rather than following.

So following this line of thought to its natural conclusion…

I should be a leader for the “I’m not going to see “The Hunger Games” crowd.

Except that, from what I hear, this might be a very small crowd.

A crowd of one…

But if it IS just a crowd of one, then I shouldn’t have anyone around to distract me…right?

Besides, I already know how “The Hunger Games” trilogy ends…I read the last pages of the third book at the book store. So there’s no need to see the movie anyway…

Oops, gotta go…there’s a new trailer at imdb.com…

For “The Avengers.”

SIGH…

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to ““The Hunger Games”

  1. Rachael

    March 24, 2012 at 7:30 am

    Jon, go to the movie and write a review…for those that didn’t read the trilogy and think it’s a controversial movie about kids killing kids.

     
    • jbecker007

      March 24, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Hey, Rachael! You sound like you may have read the trilogy…I’m not a fan of first-person fiction personally, and I’m not sure I want to get sucked into the vortex of pop culture that distracts me from other stuff, but I will consider your suggestion. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
