RSS

Winning a Battle with God

08 Apr

Happy Easter, everybody!  On this Resurrection Sunday, I feel compelled today to share with you a recent entry from my personal journal.

“I had a fight with God yesterday…a real argument. I was mad, yelling, in tears…I had a real temper tantrum. In the end I won. 🙂

No, I didn’t get my way…that would not be winning. In the end, God listened to my human frustration, calmed my selfish spirit, and comforted me. Nothing feels better than to be comforted by God. That’s why I won.

I didn’t get what I wanted. I got what God wanted. I grew a little more. I came to rely on him a little more. And I was reminded again how He is in control and wants what’s best for me.

I won…by losing. I lost my anger…I lost my fear…I lost my self-centered pride…

Thank You God, for letting me win, by losing…and by showing me a glimpse of your glory. I love you, Lord.”

Are you fighting with God today? Are you angry? Frustrated? He’s big enough to handle ALL of your emotions. And if you come to him honestly, pouring your heart out to him, he promises to give you peace.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

-Matthew 11:29-30

 

3 responses to “Winning a Battle with God

  1. Carl

    April 8, 2012 at 11:40 am

    You’re an example of what an everyday Christian can be. You inspire me to forge a better relationship with God and become a better person.

    Happy Easter to you and your family.

     
    • jbecker007

      April 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      Thanks, Carl…I’m so glad you hold me accountable. Blessings on you!

       
  2. Bryan Hart (@BryanHartSpeaks)

    April 9, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    God Bless and Happy Easter! (Belated 😛 )

     

Leave a Reply

 
