RSS

Finding Your Magic Number

07 Jun

Numbers are magical…

Come on, admit it! Even if you don’t like math, you know that there are certain numbers that are magical.

For some people, that number is 50…as in “50% off all merchandise.” The eyes glaze over and the mouth starts to salivate at the possibilities…

Magic.

If you are a baseball fan, Joe DiMaggio’s 56 is a magic number. For bowlers, 300 is magic. If you like to golf, your magic number is whatever par is for that course.

For me, 300 was always a magic number, but not because I bowled. In high school, it was the weight that some people mercilessly teased me of being…and the weight I swore that I would never reach. It was the weight I rocketed past on my way to an all-time high of 360 pounds…and it was the number that I desperately wanted to drop below.

When I finally did get below 300 pounds last year, I didn’t have the sense of euphoria that I thought I would. There was a sense of satisfaction, but I was still not content with my body. I was still overweight and I could not enjoy my accomplishment. A friend asked me if I had ever been content with myself. Sadly, I had not. I have always been overweight, I have always been embarrassed about my weight, and I have always been driven to lose that weight…

Until…

Recently I experienced something new…I found a new magic number. And it caught me off guard. I stepped on the scale, and for the first time since I was about 13 years old, I weighed less than 270 pounds…

And something inside me clicked…I felt different…I felt satisfied…

I felt content.

For some reason, in that moment, I was no longer embarrassed at what I weighed. I could shout it from the rooftops (or at least in my blog):

I weigh 268 pounds!!!

I don’t know why 270 has become that magic number. I didn’t feel this way when I dropped below 300, or 290 or 280. And I don’t even think I will feel the same way when I eventually get below 260, or 250, or (hopefully) 240.

Because for the first time in my life, I am content with who I am physically and where my weight is right now. The number 270 defines for me a milepost, a barrier that I do not want to cross again.  But, more than that, it defines a moment in time when I was able to look in the mirror and actually like myself for who I am, not for who I hope to be.

And for me, that moment was pure magic.

So what are some magic numbers in your life? Is it that 92% you received for a term paper in English class? Did you get a hole in ONE in golf last week? Or maybe you just passed five years cancer-free. Whatever it might be, find your magic number, identify it, and celebrate! And share it here as an encouragement to  others.

Because numbers are truly magical.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Finding Your Magic Number

  1. Cathy

    June 9, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Love the idea of finding your number. I have several and I am going to share them. Thanks

     
    • jbecker007

      June 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Thanks for sharing Cathy! Have you found any of your magic numbers that you would like to share?

       
  2. Cathy

    June 22, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    My biggest magic number right now is 200. I am five pounds away from being under 200lbs. 175 is the next number and goal I want to achieve. 🙂

     
    • jbecker007

      June 23, 2012 at 8:28 am

      Hang in there, Cathy! I feel so much better now that I am well below 300 pounds. Can;t wait to hit my next magic number!

       
  3. productivemonkey

    June 23, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Haven’t found my magic number, yet. In the meantime I’m collecting “magic” numbers and post them here on wordpress. Feel free to contribute if you like. http://productivemonkey.wordpress.com/pictures/magic-numbers/

     

Leave a Reply

 
