RSS

Putting Your Dreams in Black and White

15 Jun

Accomplishing a task once though impossible is a phenomenal experience…the natural inclination is to share it with your friends and family-to have them celebrate with you as you revel in your accomplishment.

I did this today…

Big mistake…

Yesterday, I ran a mile for the first time in my life. As a long-term couch potato (can I get a side of fries with that?), this is something that I never imagined doing. When I was a kid, I couldn’t climb the rope, jump the rope, or swing from the rope (although I was always asked to ANCHOR the rope in tug-of-war). P.E. was the worst part of school. By the time I graduated from high school, I weighed over 280 on my way to a morbidly obese 360 pounds…running a mile was something I never thought I would do.

So naturally, I wanted to share it with friends…

Did I mention that this was a big mistake?

I meet with a mastermind group every Friday morning…we’re a group of guys (Mark, Bryan, Larry, and me) who read professional/personal development books and discuss them. We also encourage and motivate one another, and we hold each other accountable. I couldn’t wait to tell the guys about my victory.

All of the other guys are in pretty good shape, so running a mile made me feel even more like one of the guys. They congratulated me, joked with me about how sore I was, and gave me tips for what to expect and how to improve my running time. I felt really good.

Then Mark said, “Hey, you know what we should do? We should run together in the Rotary Ramble in August!” The Rotary Ramble is a 5K (3.1 mile) race, held in our town every year during the Town and Country Festival days.

I smiled as if to say, “yeah, right!” But before I could say anything else, Larry said, “That’s a good idea! It’s in August sometime…what’s that date again?” All three guys started fishing through their calendars to find the date.

I immediately protested, “wait a minute, that’s only a couple of months away…I can’t get up to three miles in two months!”

“Yeah, you can!” they all assured me as they started making plans. I was being sucked inexorably into their vortex, and I didn’t see any way out. I feebly tried to protest, but then Mark stuck his hand out, fist down, like players do right before they start some kind of crazy team chant. Bryan and Larry stuck their hands in, and then all three looked at me expectantly…

Get the picture?

Peer pressure exists; even for old guys like me…I slowly reached out my hand and put it on the top of the pile, knowing that I was about to make a two month commitment to training for a race. Less than 24 hours prior, I didn’t believe I could run a mile, and now, I was agreeing to run a 3.1 mile race. What was I thinking?

I’ll tell you what I was thinking. I was thinking that a world of possibilities had been opened to me when I ran that mile. When I did something I thought impossible, I realized that everything else I once thought impossible was now possible.

We did one of those crazy “one, two, three break!” chants, and I committed to God, myself, and three other human beings that this effort to get fit was finally, once and for all, a reality, and not just another fad, as it had been for so many years.

And since I committed it to my friends in private, I figure that I should commit it to my readers in public. So here it is…

Barring injury or any unforeseeable circumstance, I am running the Rotary Ramble on August 11th in Demotte, Indiana.

There, I said it…now I have to prepare to do it.

But putting it in black and white brings clarity and a resolve that I wouldn’t have if I just left it out there as a “nice idea.”

Now it’s your turn…what “nice ideas” have you been thinking about that you have been afraid to commit to? You don’t have to commit to it now. Just share it with the rest of us. Put it in writing, so that it’s more than just an idea, floating around in your head. If you are afraid to share it publicly, then you can send me a private message or just write yourself a letter and read it through a couple of times. You CAN do it.

After all, if I can run a mile, I can do just about anything…

And so can you…

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Putting Your Dreams in Black and White

  1. Bryan Hart (@BryanHartSpeaks)

    June 22, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    SWEEEEEET! I’m looking forward to hearing about your progress. Thanks for all the encouragement for our own challenges!

     
  2. Bryan Hart

    June 22, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    SWEEEEET! I’m looking forward to hearing your progress report. 🙂 Thanks for all the encouragement you send our way!

     

Leave a Reply

 
