RSS

When You Don’t Feel Like It…

26 Jun

I have a problem…You see, I’m a writer…and a writer is supposed to, well…WRITE. But I’m not feeling inspired to write at the moment…

That’s not exactly the problem. The problem is that, whether I feel INSPIRED or not, I need to write anyway.

And I haven’t been.

You can’t get away with that in most other professions.

For example, just because I don’t feel like teaching my class doesn’t mean that I don’t show up and do it anyway.

If people didn’t show up for work, society would fall apart. Patients would die while their doctors hit the golf course. Retailers would lock their doors because no one came to work to take care of their customers. The transportation system would grind to a halt as drivers and pilots took the day off.

So why do I stop writing when I don’t feel like it?

Is it because I somehow view my writing as less important? Do I think that what I have to say doesn’t matter?

Or is it because I am just undisciplined…

That’s a statement, not a question.

It also answers the question, “Why do I stop writing when I don’t feel like it?”

I’m undisciplined. My days blow by without a plan. And, as the old saying goes, “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.”

In a recent blog, Michael Hyatt writes about the importance of getting a handle on his schedule. He even includes a link to an excel file that lays out his “ideal week.” I encourage you to read it. You will benefit immensely, believe me.

What tools are you using to become more productive? Have you ever laid out a picture of your “ideal” day, week, or month? Please feel free to share how you are maximizing your time more effectively.

Because I need all the help I can get.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “When You Don’t Feel Like It…

  1. Zen

    June 26, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Many people would say that you should write no matter what, even if you’re not feeling it, but I disagree. Forcing out the words won’t get you anywhere, and it’ll feel more like a chore than anything else. Why not try searching for inspiration instead? Read books, watch movies, take long walks, observe people… I find that all these things help a lot. =]

     
    • jbecker007

      June 26, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Thanks for the comment, Zen! I agree that forcing words out can be difficult, but sometimes it’s like using a plunger…once you get past the gross stuff, the water flows more freely. That might be an unsavory metaphor, but it certainly describes my experiences quite often! 🙂

       
  2. Jannie

    June 26, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I struggle with this too, Jon. Glad I am good company. Maybe, sometimes, those times we just don’t feel like it, God took our desire away in order to make time to spend w/ Him? Maybe it is God making an appointment w/ us?

     
    • jbecker007

      June 26, 2012 at 10:37 am

      I will often do that, Jan…and sometimes He gives me the words, other times He doesn’t. As long as I keep trying to serve Him faithfully, I pray that He will bless me and use me. Thanks for the thoughts!

       
  3. Andy Mort (@atlumschema)

    June 27, 2012 at 6:31 am

    Yeah, very much struggling with this. I’ve made loads of plans, I’m great at forming strategies for writing, but when it comes to sitting down do get the work done I am often guilty of believing I need to wait for inspiration to strike. I know the truth is the opposite. That actually my best work has been done from a place of silence, with nothing to say, that at the time felt like a slog. It’s the work that I leave thinking it’s rubbish and pointless and come back to a later date and see something in it that I didn’t realise I had done. My best work often emerges from my deepest struggle to get something out. My worst work is often the opposite – when it feels like things are flowing and it seems easy – these times often produce mediocrity. It’s hard to explain and even harder to bottle. I guess we just have to keep showing up. 🙂 Thanks for your post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
