RSS

37 Days

11 Oct

It’s been a month…A MONTH…

Actually, 37 days to be precise…which is more than a month. But somehow, 37 days doesn’t sound as bad as a month. And that’s my problem…I’m trying to make it sound less bad than it really is.

It has been MORE than a month since I wrote a blog.

When I started writing, I had this vision of trying to share my life from a quirky perspective. I wanted to be able to encourage my readers. I wanted to make you laugh while offering a humorous view on the ups and downs of life. I imagined myself to be a modern-day Andy Rooney.

Andy Rooney died…

And so will this blog if I don’t get more serious about it.

The truth is that life, as is so often the case, is getting in the way. Health, wealth (or LACK of it), family, and friends have all bubbled to the top of my priority list, and I haven’t maintained my writing as a priority in life.

And that’s a shame.

Because I really do love to write.

I feel energized and motivated when I write. My brain engages, and the words come so fast and furious that I have trouble writing them coherently. As I get older, that “brain engagement” seems to come less frequently…so when it does, I get very excited.

I woke up this morning, and my brain was fully engaged. I was so excited to write, that I wish I could have taken my iPad into the shower. And as I sit in front of my computer, typing away, I glance at the clock…5:17 am. I am wide awake, fully engaged, and excited about the day before me. With a cup of hot milk tea by my side (my newest addiction, courtesy of my son, Matthew), my fingers are flying over the keyboard, capturing my thoughts as quickly as they can, straining to keep up with the voices in my head…and I can’t help but think:

“Why can’t writing be this easy ALL the time?”

The answer is simple…if it were so easy, everyone would be doing it. And then it would no longer be special.

So as I write this morning, I feel the energy…and I am embracing it. This is very much a spiritual experience. In the Academy-Award winning movie, Chariots of Fire, Eric Liddell says, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.”

I understand what he meant by that.

Because I believe that we are all made for a purpose. And when I take time to slow down and listen, time to let the words flow, not from just my brain, but from my heart…

The noise of the world fades away and I can feel God’s pleasure.

I get filled…filled with energy, passion, focus, motivation…all the things that give me the fuel to get things done in life…

My brain is slowing down now…the words are coming less easily. My fingers aren’t flying across the keyboard as quickly as they were just minutes ago. The pressures of the day are starting to dance around in my head. And I know that it is time to bring this rambling post to a close.

I hope that the words will continue to come easily to me over the next days, weeks, and months.

But even if they don’t, I need to sit down, in the quiet of the early morning, like I have done today…

And write.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Focus, God, Procrastination, Self-discipline, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “37 Days

  1. Carl

    October 11, 2012 at 10:06 am

    I’m glad to see you’re writing again. I look forward to hearing what you have to say. My energy only got steadily lower as I aged, so I’m left with doing things because I know I’ll feel better after having gotten it done. Your passion is extra special. It’s not only satisfying to you, but also inspires others, like me.

     
    • jbecker007

      October 12, 2012 at 5:53 am

      Thank you, Carl! I really do enjoy it and I miss it when I am not actively writing. Let’s hope that life doesn’t get in the way of my writing again!

       
  2. Mark

    October 11, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    I enjoy reading your articles Jon, I especially like how you aren’t embarrassed about some of the things you say which are very admirable. I don’t write on blogs but I keep a personal journal and I record in it my strengths, weaknesses and what me and my family are doing and goals we set, but like you sometimes I write so much and then 6 months go by or more before I put another entry in. I think it is hard to stay committed (at least for me) is that no one forces you to sit down and do it, its completely on my own and surely life, school, stresses weigh in on my mind and distract me. Keep up the good work! don’t be so hard on yourself. I think your blog has taken great shape.

    -Mark

     
    • jbecker007

      October 12, 2012 at 5:54 am

      I appreciate the encouragement, Mark! I know how stress weighs me down sometimes, but I hope to continue writing regularly, even if I don’t get everything that I write posted for the world to see. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
